DeCordova announces New England artists selected for deCordova New England Biennial 2019


DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum is pleased to announce the artists selected for deCordova New England Biennial 2019, opening on April 5, 2019. The exhibition will feature works of art and newly commissioned installations by 23 New England-based artists, showcasing the dynamism, variety, and quality of art making in the region. Featuring work across diverse mediums including painting, sculpture, video, photography, fiber art, and ceramics, the Biennial will occupy all galleries of the Museum and extend into the Sculpture Park with new site-specific commissions. It will be on view through September 15, 2019.


DeCordova New England Biennial 2019 Artists:

Mildred Beltré (VT)
William Binnie (MA)
Bradley Borthwick (ME)
Jenny Brillhart (ME)
Eli Brown (MA)
Carl D’Alvia (CT)
Anoka Faruqee & David Driscoll (CT)
Ken Grimes (CT)
Yoav Horesh (NH)
Erin Johnson (ME)
George Longfish (NH)
Eva Lundsager (MA)
Jonathan Mess (ME)
Zoe Pettijohn Schade (MA)
Jordan Seaberry (RI)
Alexandria Smith (MA)
Sheida Soleimani (RI)
Emilie Stark-Menneg (RI)
Chanel Thervil (MA)
Stephen Tourlentes (MA)
Elizabeth Tubergen (CT/MA)
Bhakti Ziek (VT)

After soliciting suggestions from area colleagues, Curator Sarah Montross led deCordova’s curatorial team across the six northeastern states to visit dozens of artist’s studios, as well as numerous galleries and exhibitions. Following their extensive travels, the team selected a group of artists that represent a broad range of creative vision, experience, and ambition.

An accompanying publication and a full slate of public programming and performances will enrich the show’s presentation. The Biennial is a mainstay of the deCordova’s programming and mission, and exemplifies the Museum’s commitment to New England artists. DeCordova began hosting its Annual exhibitions in the late 1980s and inaugurated the Biennial format in 2010.

The deCordova New England Biennial 2019 organizers are: Sarah Montross, Curator; Sam Adams, Koch Curatorial Fellow; Elizabeth Upenieks, Curatorial Assistant; Martina Tanga, former Koch Curatorial Fellow; and Scout Hutchinson, former Curatorial Assistant.

DeCordovaBiennial2019_PR.pdf337.8 KB