DeCordova Announces Party for the Park 2018 to Honor Phyllis and Jerome L. Rappaport


DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum is pleased to announce that Party for the Park, deCordova’s annual gala, will honor Phyllis and Jerry Rappaport on Saturday, May 12, 2018. The Rappaports have been loyal supporters of deCordova for the past three decades, most notably by establishing and funding the Rappaport Prize in 2000.

In honoring Phyllis and Jerry, deCordova will also be celebrating the prize winners from the past 18 years: Sam Durant, Barkley Hendricks, Matt Saunders, Liz Deschenes, Ann Pibal, Suara Welitoff, Orly Genger, Liza Johnson, David Cole, Ursula von Rydingsvard, María Magdalena Campos-Pons, Abelardo Morell, Sarah Walker, Debra Olin, John Bisbee, Lars-Erik Fisk, Annee Spileos Scott, and Jennifer Hall.

The gala is chaired by Gerard Frank, a founding partner of Bechtel Frank Erickson Architects and former Board President of deCordova, and will also welcome Joyce Kulhawik as its special guest. Joyce is best known as the Emmy Award-winning arts and entertainment critic for CBS-Boston (WBZ-TV 1981-2008), and currently works as an arts advocate and motivational speaker.

Each year deCordova selects noteworthy individuals who have made significant contributions to the arts community through their work as an artist, philanthropist, or arts professional. In 2017, deCordova honored the 2006 Rappaport Prize recipient, Abelardo Morell, gallerist Arlette Kayafas, and photographic printing impresario Gus Kayafas. In 2016 the honorees were philanthropist and longtime deCordova Trustee, Deborah Hawkins, Founding Director of MASS MoCA Joseph Thompson, and artist Richard Tuttle. And in 2015 the Museum celebrated gallerist Barbara Krakow.

“Phyllis and Jerry Rappaport are widely respected for their contributions to many sectors of society in New England,” says John B. Ravenal, deCordova’s Executive Director. “With their long-time support of deCordova and creation of the Rappaport Prize, they have made a tremendous impact on artists, the Museum, and lovers of contemporary art. We are delighted this year to honor Phyllis and Jerry for their outstanding vision and generosity.”

Established in 2000, the Rappaport Prize celebrates contemporary artists with strong connections to New England and a strong record of achievement. The prestigious annual award of $25,000 is one of the most generous contemporary art awards of its kind. In 2010, the Rappaport Prize was endowed in perpetuity by the Phyllis and Jerome Lyle Rappaport Foundation, assuring the ongoing support of contemporary art and artists in New England.

Ticket and table proceeds from Party for the Park provide vital funds to support deCordova’s exhibitions, lectures, and programs, and can be reserved by contacting or online at


About the Rappaport Foundation

The Phyllis & Jerome Lyle Rappaport Foundation sponsors the work of new and emerging leaders to increase the Boston region’s capacity for generating world-class art, public policy solutions, and breakthroughs for neurologic and mental illness. The work is accomplished through strategic partnerships with deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum, Atlantic Classical Orchestra, Harvard University, Boston College Law School, Massachusetts General Hospital, McLean Hospital, Brigham & Women’s Hospital, and Cure Alzheimer’s Fund. The Foundation fosters innovative thinking, productive dialogue, and creative alliances. By valuing and rewarding those who show commitment and success, the Foundation provides grant and prize recipients with opportunities and resources to strengthen their careers.

PartyForThePark2018_PR.pdf473.66 KB