The 2008 deCordova Annual Exhibition

DeCordova Exhibits
Click images for larger view
On View 2008

Director of Curatorial Affairs Rachel Rosenfield Lafo is delighted to announce the artists selected for The 2008 DeCordova Annual Exhibition. DeCordova’s Curators have selected 12 artists/artist teams—who work in a variety of media including painting, installation, performance, sculpture, drawing, and photography—for The 2008 DeCordova Annual Exhibition. The selected artists are: Mitchel K. Ahern, Matt Brackett, Leah Gauthier, The Institute for Infinitely Small Things, Niho Kozuru, Eva Lee, Yana Payusova, David Prifti, Kirsten Reynolds, Mark Schoening, Vanessa Tropeano, and Marguerite White.

Originally titled the Artists/Visions series, the DeCordova Annual has showcased the works of emerging, mid-career, and established artists since 1989. This exhibition highlights the work of a limited number of contemporary artists from the six New England states and emphasizes the quality and variety of works rather than any single or overarching theme. Each year the DeCordova Annual seeks to feature some of most innovative artists working in the region.

The DeCordova Annual is the backbone of the Museum’s exhibition program, solidly reflecting our mission. The series also reinforces DeCordova’s commitment to regional artists, and its leadership position in celebrating contemporary art in New England.

The exhibition is organized by Director of Curatorial Affairs Rachel Rosenfield Lafo, Curator Nick Capasso, Assistant Curator Dina Deitsch, and Koch Curatorial Fellow Kate Dempsey. The 2008 DeCordova Annual Exhibition has been funded by the Deborah A. Hawkins Charitable Trust.